Decaffeinating my days

Nearly two months ago I decided to cut down on caffeine and see what happens. I usually drink a cup of coffee in the morning and then I stick to water and six cups of black tea during day. It does not seem to be too much but if you realize I have been drinking black tea since childhood, it might get a bit scary. Even if caffeine has a negative impact on me, I probably just get on with it not knowing I can easily change it.
My small experiment started with a simple swap. Instead of six cups of black tea I had three cups of green tea and three cups of herbal teas like mint or nettle.
Based on Caffeine Informer my six cups of black tea, brewed for up to 1 minute, would give me around 120mg of caffeine. With herbal teas being caffeine free and green tea having around 25mg of caffeine, I managed to shave off ca. 45mg. It is not an extremely big difference but it was enough to improve my well-being. After around two weeks a constant feeling of anxiety, which has been with me since I remember, was gone.
This encouraged me to go a bit further. A week ago my yummy green tea was replaced with a tasty decaf green tea which is supposed to have 2mg of caffeine. It means that my intake dropped by around 70mg and the only proper source of caffeine is my morning coffee.
The first four days were quite hard. My energy level was very low and if I could, I would stay in bed all day long. Finally I got back on track and I have not been having any more withdrawal symptoms. The only thing left now is to observe myself and look for further benefits from the decreased intake.
2 thoughts on “Decaffeinating my days

Leave a Reply

