Seven Sisters Coastal Walk

I was not hiking since summer last year so as soon as the winter was (almost) gone I started pondering over my first spring destination. It did not have to be anything special, even a short walk in the countryside would do. I simply could not wait to leave a big city for one day and enjoy vast open space and the view of horizon.

Luckily, I found a meetup group which was planning a walk over the chalk cliffs of Seven Sisters – a place I wanted to visit for a very long time. So I booked my place and on March 19th boarded a morning train to Seaford, excited about the mini-coastal adventure.

seven_sisters1

My excitement slowly faded away during the day. I was mentally prepared to climb 7 cliffs so when we reached that number and there were still more to go, I lost hope we would ever get to Eastbourne. Don’t get me wrong, I was enjoying the hike just at some point it looked more like an high-intensity training then a nice walk. Constantly going up and down, up and down and… up and down…

seven_sisters2

The weather was not perfect but it also was not terrible. The sky kept cloudy all day long and the wind got a bit cold in the afternoon but at least it was not raining. Also when you need to walk up-hill so many times it is much better when it is cooler. I went once on a coastal hike on a beautiful sunny day and trust me, at some point I really missed clouds and shade.

seven_sisters3

The views from the cliffs were amazing. Infinite sea joining the sky far far away, glimpses of sun light dancing on the water and vast open-space all around us. Despite many people walking the cliffs that day, you didn’t feel cramped. Such a wonderful feeling after all that time spent in the city!

seven_sisters4

But all good needs to end at some point. In the late afternoon we finally got to Eastbourne and, after a short break at a local pub, we boarded a train back home. And I, still wearing my hiking boots, have already started thinking about the next destination…

One thought on “Seven Sisters Coastal Walk

Leave a Reply

